Take your Valentine to Afternoon Tea

One of the best gifts we can give another is our time. When that time is spent enjoying afternoon tea together, it is a joy to be with people you care about.

Afternoon tea provides little bites of savories and sweets, delicious hot tea and even champagne or a cocktail. Something for everyone.

I took my Valentine, my husband, to Tyme for Tea in Fremont, CA to enjoy a royal afternoon tea this Valentine’s Day. Tyme for Tea, as well as many tea rooms in the Bay Area had special Valentine’s Day teas over the weekend. I wanted to celebrate on Valentine’s Day proper.

The mouthwatering aroma of baking scones greeted us. Having been to Tyme for Tea before, we selected the Royal Afternoon Tea. Mark selected the Assam tea; I selected the decaf blackberry sage tea. The Royal tea came with 4 choices of champagne; I picked the plain, Mark the mimosa. I tried to get a photo of us toasting, but did not have enough hands, so Mark took a photo of me with our two champagne glasses in a toast.

For me, the amount of food served at tea is too much. I usually eat half of everything and am still full when I get done. This day, I ate the entire apricot white chocolate, freshly baked scone with the delicious lemon curd, cream and preserves. So satisfying! I ate the three hot savories and tasted the two sandwiches. There was a mushroom pastry, I’ve had before that is ‘meaty’ and has an intense mushroom flavor. There was a cheese and artichoke crostini, so fresh tasting and crunchy, and there was a new chees-ie pastry roll up savory I enjoyed. Then I had to forgo the desserts because I was too full.

My husband took them with him to work, the desserts were heart shaped shortbread cookies, heart shaped petit fours and large chocolate and peanut truffles dipped in chocolate.  I had tasted these not long ago when my mother, daughter and I visited Tyme for Tea together. I knew how good they were so I did not feel I was missing anything.

There were fresh Gerber daisies on each table. Around the water jar for the flowers were hard candy hearts so traditional for Valentine’s Day. The pink, yellow, green and purple candies that say ‘love you’ or ‘too sweet’. I never did find out if we were supposed to or not, but Mark and I ate, and had a good time with those candy hearts.

Sharing afternoon tea with your spouse or significant other at Valentine’s Day or other holiday is special. Tea rooms usually have special events or menus at the holidays. My girlfriends and I visit tea rooms often to celebrate our birthdays or just because.

The women in my family enjoy afternoon tea regularly, no matter where we are visiting. In March, for my mother’s birthday, it is her turn to find a tearoom when we visit her in Houston, TX.

And then about the gifts….. I don’t give my husband greeting cards anymore. After I picked up off the floor the last card I bought him, we talked about it. He does not really care about receiving cards. I love to receive cards. He bought me a card. I bought him a Chicago Cubs championship baseball cap. I thought I was being clever putting it in a Victoria Secret bag, but he did not flinch one bit. He did, though, love the hat. I scored!

Leave a Reply

